Indiana University
(Your shopping cart is empty)

  Home > Audio Recordings >

The Clouds of Magellan: The Music of Eugene O'Brien, Vol. 1
The Clouds of Magellan: The Music of Eugene O'Brien, Vol. 1
Our Price: $12.00

Product Code: MS30000011

Performers: IU New Music Ensemble conducted by David Dzubay; IU Concert Orchestra conducted by David Dzubay; Kathryn Lukas, flute; Eli Eban, clarinet; Bruce Bransby, double bass; Bridget Parker, soprano

Eugene O'Brien is the recipient of the Rome prize of the American Academy in Rome and the Academy Award in Music of the American Academy of Arts and Letters, as well as awards from BMI, ASCAP, and the League of Composers/International Society for Contemporary Music. He has received Guggenheim, Rockefeller, Fullbright, National Endowment for the Arts, and other fellowships, and has been commissioned by the Fromm Foundation at Harvard University, the Serge Koussevitsky Foundation in the Library of Congress, the Meet-the-Composer/Lila Wallace Reader's Digest Fund, and many American and European performers and ensembles. Also active in the promotion and performance of new music, he co-founded the Cleveland-based new music ensemble Reconnaissance in 1978 and was director of the group until 1984. He received his degrees from the University of Nebraska and the Cleveland Institute of Music/Case Western Reserve University, and undertook post-graduate studies at the Staatliche Hochschule für Musik in Cologne, Germany.

1.  Embarking for Cythera
             Indiana University New Music Ensemble
             David Dzubay, conductor
2.  The Clouds of Magellan
             Indiana University Concert Orchestra
             David Dzubay, Conductor
      Fancies and Goodnights
                          3.     Fantasia I
                      4.     Fantasia II
                      5.     Fantasia III
                      6.     Nocturne I
                      7.     Fantasia IV
                      8.     Nocturne II
                      9.     Fantasia V
                                      Kathryn Likas, Flute,/Piccolo: Eli Eban, Clarinet
                                      Bruce Bransby, Double Bass;
                                      David Dzubay, Conductor
10.  Balck Fugatos
             Indiana University New Music Ensemble
      In the Coutry of the Last Things
                   11.     Mareas
               12.     Tierra, devuelveme                                  
                                   Bridget Parker, Soprano
                                   Indiana University New Music Ensemble
                                   David Szubay, Conductor

Share your knowledge of this product with other customers... Be the first to write a review

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Audio Recordings
Audio Recordings > Composers
Built with Volusion