Indiana University
(Your shopping cart is empty)

  Home > Audio Recordings >

The Music of Don Freund, Vol. 1
The Music of Don Freund, Vol. 1
Our Price: $12.00

Product Code: MS30000010


Performers: IU Concert orchestra conducted by Don Freund; IU Chamber Orchestra conducted by Paul Biss; IU New Music Ensemble conducted by David Dzubay; Moira Smiley, soprano

Don Freund has composed over 100 performed works ranging from solo, chamber, and orchestral music to pieces involving live performance with electronic instruments, music for dance, and large theatre works. He is also active as a pianist, conductor, and lecturer. He was born in Pittsburgh; he studied at Duquesne University and earned his graduate degrees at the Eastman School of Music. From 1972 to 1992, he was chairman of the composition department at Memphis State University. As founder and coordinator of Memphis State University's Annual New Music Festival, he programmed close to a thousand new American works. He has been conductor or pianist in the performance of some 200 new pieces, usually in collaboration with the composer.
1-9 Madame Bovary Ballet Suite for orchestra
Indiana University Concert Orcheste: Don Freund, conductor
from Part 1
1. Scene 1 - Convent School Reveries
2. Romance Visions
from Part II
3. Scene 2 - The Invitation
4. Scene 4 - Slow Waltz
5. Scene 5 - Fast Waltz
from PartIII
6. Scene 1 - Infatuation with Leon
7. Scene 2- The Fair/ Rodolphe's Advances
8. Scene 3 - Seduction in the Forset
from Part IV
9. Scene 6 - Throes of Death
10  Soft Cells for 15 instruments
Indiana University New Nusic Ensemble: David Dzubay, conductor
11  Viola Concerto in One Movement
Atar, Arad, viola; Indiana University Chamber Orchestra; Paul Biss, conductor
12  Dissolving Music Rockpiece for soprano and 6 instruments
Indiana University New Music Ensemble; Moira Smiley, sorprano  

Share your knowledge of this product with other customers... Be the first to write a review

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Audio Recordings
Audio Recordings > Composers
Built with Volusion